Emma Goldman once said, so long ago: “If voting changed anything, they’d make it illegal.” How did she get so wise, way back then? Though my car’s bumper wears her bon mot, I got badgered into voting for Obama. I cringe, remembering… yet I was going to drag myself to the polls one more time, to vote on the propositions, and to write “none of the above” for the people. But I got sick. That night, a strange and wonderful peace overtook me. I am now an un-voter.

Being first generation immigrant and a refugee from communism, I took voting utterly seriously. I even proudly served as an election judge for two terms. That was in the days when we counted the card ballots by hand. It’s been hard, to unplug. But I can no longer lend legitimacy to this ugly charade. Stick a fork in me; I am done.

Cartoon courtesy garrisongraphics.blogspot.com
Enjoy.

